top of page

Sewing Basics- The Right Machine for You

Shopping For Your Machine

For these examples, we are going to be using Walmart.com for prices and models. There are many websites, and department stores you can visit before you make your final decision. We are just giving you a base knowledge of what to look for when buying your sewing machine.

More specific details on what kind of sewing machine functions to look for will come in the next blog. (TL;DR: Buy whatever machine you want that looks pretty. Just don't buy a mini or a handheld)

Optional Follow Along Activity

You can do this on your laptop by opening another tab, on your phone through the Walmart app, or on your phone's browser (Safari or Chrome). (Or just look at the one example I post for each)


First, go to Walmart.com and type in "Sewing Machines" in the search bar.

Let's set the "Sort & Filter" to price Lowest to Highest to see what we get.

The first type of machine we see is cheap Mini sewing machines!



I bought a mini, a very long time ago, thinking I was SO smart only spending a few dollars on a cute sewing machine. Well. It was NOT long before I had realized my mistake. I would only purchase one of these again if I were to teach my son how to sew, even then, I would rather show him the ropes on a more realistic machine.

Pros: Very budget-friendly, user-friendly, kid-friendly.

Cons: Not durable, lightweight sewing only, breaks easily.

Next up! A Handheld.



Now. I have never personally used one of these, but I also haven't heard good things about them either. I can't give you accurate information here since I don't have any experience with them as of 2019.

Next, you will see machines in the 40 dollar range. These are just large Mini machines. They look more like toys and are not very durable. See the pros and cons of the Mini machine.

In the $50-$120 range, you will see that the machines do not look like they may now work as well because they have fewer "buttons" This is not true! These are the ones I highly recommend for a first-time sewer or someone who will only be sewing every now and then for buttons or mending. These machines can do the very basics of sewing, and do them WELL. This was my first machine, and it taught me so many of the basic foundations of sewing. I used this machine for 5 years.



I use a little more "fancy" machine these days, but I wouldn't even know WHY I needed all the extra gizmos, if it weren't for my basic machine.

Pros: Budget-friendly, user-friendly, durable, buttonholes, easy maintenance.

Cons: Many to chose from, only basic stitches, manual everything.

Next up, the "Computerized" machines. ($125-$300+)



This is the machine I use now. There are machines out there that offer even MORE "bells and whistles" than this one, but this is all I need.

Pros: Lots of decorative stitches to choose from, digital numbers, durable, usually a longer neck and table, push start buttons.

Cons: Less budget-friendly, electrical maintenance, lots of buttons and stitches to learn, not for heavy-duty.

After the computerized machines, you get into the Embroidery machines. These are what you would use if you wanted to personalize your items or put a picture made of thread on a project for decoration. I'm saving up for one, but that's another lesson for another day. Most embroidery machines only embroider and are not able for regular sewing.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page